I witnessed such a funny thing today. I had never seen this before. I heard this odd almost screeching noise while I was in the basement this morning. I came upstairs and looked out our south windows. There stood a deer looking around and I thought it had just heard the noise too. The deer looked away from me and I heard the noise again. I couldn’t for the life of me think of what could be in the woods behind it.

I then noticed a large orange tomcat that hangs around our barns now and then. He was walking towards the yard fence. He was across from the deer separated by a fairly small distance. By now the deer was facing towards the house as it stared at the cat. I could finally see that the noise was coming from the deer! It was following the cat and screeching at it. It was as though the deer was scolding the cat for coming into its field. I thought I was going to pass out from laughing so hard. The deer followed the cat until it left the field, then turned and went down the hill from our house. I know that cats are predators and the smell of it probably concerned the deer. It was still funny to see a deer chasing a barn cat out of the field.

