To make up for the fact that I do not post on the Sabbath, I am going to try to post an extra article or two on Fridays. This one will be another recurring article but I think I will restrict it to being on Friday evenings before the Sabbath comes.

“Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the LORD, she shall be praised. Give her of the fruit of her hands; and let her own works praise her in the gates.” Proverbs 31:30-31

I have always loved Proverbs. It has so much wisdom and insight. The above passage is the last part of the greater one concerning the virtuous woman (Proverbs 31:10-31). This set of scriptures has spoken to me for years and shown me where I need improvement. It is what I strive for. As it says at the beginning of the passage, “Who can find a virtuous woman?” This is the woman that I want to become.

I am sure many women would look down on me for this statement. It is considered to be “old world” to be concerned with being a good wife and mother above all else. Women are told that this is no longer our focus; this is the opposite sex trying to lord over us. They equate anything the Bible says on the matter of women as oppressive, especially in the Old Testament. I am struck by how this war on men that a large number of women have taken part in has worked to break our society as a whole down, but I will not climb up on that soapbox today. I will merely say that as with many other subjects we have gotten out of one ditch to promptly fall into the opposite ditch.

But, I am getting sidetracked! The passage of the Virtuous Woman discusses the qualities of a good woman. How she cares and provides for her household, how she refuses to be idle and lends a hand to those who need. I see in this woman strength and honor in addition to wisdom and love. I pray that some day I will gain the right to be referred to as a virtuous woman.

