Most people, when they hear someone talk about being a “preper” and being able to live off grid, think of think of fanatics hoarding back supplies and avoiding the government and any ties to the government. However, there are many people that are interested in prepping because they like the idea of being self-sufficient and self-sustaining. I fall into this category. Do I think the world, as we know it, will end? Yes, but until then, I just want to be prepared for if we get another ice storm and don’t have electricity for 6 weeks (that’s right, welcome to rural Arkansas!).
While I still have a long way to go, I am working on such things as emergency plans and supply distribution. However, if you choose to do these things as well, I think it is important to think over with whom you share the information. Social media is watched by the government so you may not want to post on FaceBook about your hidden stash of supplies if you don’t want them and general society to know about it. The government would have no moral problem with taking what supplies you have for your family and redistributing it to others or hoarding it to themselves at your expense. Very recently, we have seen how looters behave when society is intact. Imagine how unruly they would become if something major happened and people knew about everything you have put back. I don’t say this to scare you, merely to caution you and make you think about things before you share. This is also why I will go into ideas of things to do and may give some loose examples of what I am doing but I won’t be going into specific details.
How can I place so little faith in humanity? Simple, I’ve seen too much of what man does. Times of crisis bring out the inner person in people and many people are not all that selfless when it boils right down it. Anytime we have riots and looting over one unknown person’s death, we should all be concerned as to what we would see if something more substantial occurred. Not to be cold, but it’s true. Some people are out looking for any reason to cause destruction and immorality.
These are all things to consider when deciding what preparations to make and how and where to store supplies. You should consider what kinds of disasters your area could deal with and what kinds of supplies you would need for these. For example, a natural disaster our household does not have to be prepared for is a flood. Why? Given the hill our house is located on, if floodwaters reach us, we all have bigger issues to deal with than what most preparing can handle. Just build an ark from the house and be done with it.
Moving on to self-sustaining, this is something that goes beyond preparations. When I look at our house, I ask myself if we suddenly didn’t have electricity what would we do? How would we survive? Could life continue mostly as usual? Self-sustaining is why I am going to build a big garden, why I know home remedies and wound treatments, why I have several methods of lighting that don’t require electricity, and why I have learned to make do with and reuse what we have. To me, this is what being prepared is really about. Taking care of my family, farm, and home without much outside help because outside help may not be available.

