I am not a fan of florid in anything and I can give you an earful anytime on the reasons why not. Brad, my friend that helped me with the compost, and I were talking one day at work about toothpaste alternatives and he brought up one I hadn’t heard of. He said that some old timers remembered brushing their teeth with walnut growing up. He had done research on it and found it was a really sound idea. He had actually been using it for a little while. The benefits supposedly defied even what dentists said couldn’t be done.

The part of the walnut used for it is the hull. You know, that part that leaves black stains on everything? The reason it stains things black is because it is contains iodine, like the animal-based ones sold as cut ointments and other things. The iodine kills bacteria and prevents disease. When used on teeth it is said to do numerous things, including: prevent gum disease, whiten teeth, prevent and even reverse cavities, and rebuild enamel! All the things that good commercial toothpastes say they can do (without the poisoning effects of florid) and then some. It sounded like the best of both worlds to me so I have been using it ever since.

It’s actually really easy to make too. After the walnuts fall off the tree and are black, grab one or two. The actual nut can be left in or taken out. If you have a place where squires like to hang out and eat nuts, then you can lay them out and they will take the nuts out for you. The hull has to be left in a dry, warm place to dry out before you can do anything else. Once it is completely dried out, take a something (I use a butter knife) and scrap out the interior layer of the hull. I scrape mine straight into my little mortar for grinding it. Just throw away the outer shell of the hull. I’ve found that a mortar and pestle has worked best for grinding the scrapings into a grainy “powder” and this is what you brush your teeth with.

I keep mine in a shallow, screw top container. It makes it easier to dip the dampened toothbrush bristles in. Then, I just brush my teeth like normal. Don’t worry; it won’t turn your teeth or gums black. It does take a little more to rinse, but you don’t have to worry about that half an hour mandatory wait that comes with florid use. I have wanted to experiment with adding something to it to give it flavoring, but haven’t had time to. It can occasionally be a little bitter. Personally, I rarely ever taste anything at all when using it, but that may just be another weirdness of mine!

