With all of today’s “advancements,” people rarely send letters and notes anymore. This saddens me because there is a beauty in these that isn’t carried by electronics. However, most people consider other forms of communication to be quick, simple, and equal replacements for handwritten correspondence. It amazes me how easily we throw aside past methods as obsolete just because they don’t come with immediate results and gratification.

What will generations to come think of our methods of communication? I know that in doing family research, letters and notes are frequently such a wealth of knowledge. They give a glance into the time and life of those who wrote them. Finding a box of letters and photos from great grandparents or even great, great grandparents is like finding a family holy grail. Can electronic “equivalents” really take the place of these for future generations? Will they not know the beautiful penmanship of a cursive handwritten letter?

Even the traditional romantic love letter is lost on today’s society. It has been perverted and turned vulgar just as the standard use of the English language has. (I guess though the method of communication has changed to match the characteristics of the relationships.) These letters were meant to be poetic and pleasant, not short and sexually crude. They were to be saved and cherished when a couple were apart from each other. Who wants to do this with a cold email?

Letters and notes take time and thought to write. People in general today don’t seem to have either to spare to others. I know I don’t take the time I should, but I am trying to get better. We all get busy in our own lives and forget about all others. We can even forget about our family living with us if we aren’t careful. How much time does it really take to sit and write a note to someone? People are delighted to receive a letter or notecard in the mail. How many are willing to return the favor? Or even initiate it?

I personally prefer letters. I don’t like talking on the phone, unlike most of my generation. Writing a letter allows me to think through what I want to communicate. It allows me to express myself clearly. I can take a break from writing if there is an interruption and pick it right back up afterwards. I prefer receiving letters because they allow me to reread if I forget details I am supposed to share with someone. I can read them and write back at my leisure while Savannah is napping.

I have heard that cursive writing is trying to make a comeback in our schools. I hope it does. I would like Savannah’s generation to be more involved in writing than mine has been. I know cursive, but I have gotten out of practice with it. Perhaps now would be a good time for me to begin practicing again. Cursive is always much more attractive than block letters for writing letters and notes, in my opinion. Not everything came be replaced with electronics. Maybe with the resurrection of cursive handwriting, the art of written correspondence will revive and bring a little more beauty back to the world.

