For this week on Recipe box, I decided to share a salmon recipe that I haven’t used in a while, but that is really simple and good. Salmon is a frequent visitor to health food discussions. At some point, I would like to write a series of articles on this and other “super foods.” This is a recipe that I have made for some people who aren’t real big fans of fish in general. It uses stronger seasonings than some to help minimize the “fish taste” that many folks don’t enjoy.

You will notice I didn’t give amounts for the seasoning mixture. That is because the amount of the mixture will depend on the size of your filet and your personal taste. I like to add more thyme and basil than rosemary because, though I like the flavor of rosemary leaves, it can detract from the texture of the salmon when applied heavily. (However, it is also important to have more seasonings than oil in your mixture because they are more central to the taste than the oil.) Your seasonings will sink to the bottom of your olive oil. Because of this, I prefer to prep my mix in a measuring cup to make it easier to get out.

This recipe may sound complicated but after you have done it once, it goes a lot faster! Especially, after you discover the amount of seasoning you prefer. Also, for a quick side, you might consider making a fresh spinach salad with sliced, fresh strawberries, sliced almonds, and poppy seed dressing. If you prefer a hot side, sauté frozen, whole green beans in butter with minced garlic. Either or both go good with it.

 

