We finally ordered our seeds and received them over the weekend! I am so excited. Unfortunately, it’s given me sever spring fever, but hopefully it will spur me into getting the rest of the garden set up. Especially when I think of the fact that next month we can begin planting our root yielding crops and spinach. When I think of that, I worry that I haven’t done enough to be ready in time. But that can’t be helped now. I’ll just have to make up for it in the coming month.

I am also working on a crop plan for when to start each one and when to plant it. I bought the Old Farmer’s Almanac to make sure we start off on the right foot. I am going to plant by the moon so the crops will be nicely staggered. I still have a lot of planning I need to do though. This will be the first time ever that I have been responsible for an entire garden. I hope I do all my mentors proud. This will also be the first time I have ever started a garden completely from seed. Hopefully, we ordered enough!

We ordered our seed from a local heirloom seed dealer: Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds. I picked us out a selection of main staples: tomatoes, peppers, squash, beets, carrots, corn, onions, and beans. I also threw in some Titan sunflowers and a few herbs. They have an amazing collection. I suggest looking for a similar local provider if able. If not find one you like and order online. I am hoping to harvest and store our own seed for planting next year, but I’m probably getting carried away. I should first be concerned with making sure I don’t waste the seed we bought!

 

