The Friday that the computer crashed, I tried making broccoli cheese soup without a recipe. It was my first time making it from scratch without any assistance. It actually was a success! We all liked it. 

I melted some butter mixed in some flour, then added olive oil, chopped onion, and garlic. Once the onion was softening, I threw in some grated carrots and sliced mushrooms. Next came the chicken broth and milk. I added the broccoli and some chopped zucchini and brought the mix to a boil. I let it simmer for about a half an hour until the broccoli was tender. I added grated parmesan and shredded mozzarella and sharp cheddar cheeses. Last, I seasoned it with salt and black pepper to taste. 

A funny side note to the soup involved me almost sending a cup of it home with my sister who gave me a ride to services the next day. I offered her some and then recanted. She asked why and I said I forgot what all was in it. I told her how I had made it. She teased me about ruining it. She doesn’t like onions, mushrooms, or zucchini so she couldn’t believe that I had added these to a broccoli cheese soup. It made me very thankful that Travis isn’t that picky. 

I’m really looking forward to trying this style of cooking again. I just hope it turns out tasting as good as the soup did. 

