I finally made my list for the Gilmore Girls reading challenge. It’s pretty impressive! I have a bit of a start already because I’ve read a few of them already. However, it is a very small start. 

I have read Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice and Sense & Sensibility. I have also read numerous pieces from Shakespeare and Poe. I have a complete works for each of them now so I am going to go back through and fill in any holes I am missing. If I had read them straight though as I had planned when I first bought them, I would have that many more under my belt. I also, of course, recently read Tolkien’s Fellowship of the Ring. 

I will have plenty to read even before I start shopping for books from the list. In addition the two complete works that I mentioned, I have Tolkien’s Two Towers and Oscar Wilde’s Picture of Dorian Gray.  I could probably borrow a copy of Tolkien’s Return of the King, but I’d really like my own copy. Travis has Mario Puzo’s The Godfather: Book I so I don’t have to track it down. Needless to say, that should have my summer reading and maybe fall taken care of!

I am considering giving myself a few passes for books that I am not sure I can bring myself to read. I decided this when I saw a title of a VERY feminist sounding book and both of Hilary Clinton’s books on the list. First off, I can’t stand Clinton. Second of all, while I may have been considered a feminist in the 1800s and later, I would now be considered anti-feminist. Recent feminists have done more harm to women than good. As in all things that go from one ditch to the other, this has been carried too far. You have to know when to stop. But, I digress. 

Getting back to the challenge, I have 6 dramas and sonnets to read from Shakespeare. I am currently reading Henry IV, Part I. I may have read one or two of his King Henry dramas, but it was when I first got into reading him. I was twelve years old though and I can’t remember which ones. With that being the case, I decided to read all three just to be sure. 

I am looking forward to so many books that are on the list. I don’t think I could begin to narrow it down to the five I look forward to the most. I’ll just have to settle for passing on what I’m reading from it. 

