This may be my new favorite way to cook in the summer. I was on Pinterest looking for cooler cooking options. Along with seeing how to bake potatoes in a crockpot, I saw a pin for “no-mess” meals. It was combination suggestions for cooking a serving of meat and vegetables together in a foil packet using the oven. I thought of the crockpot with foil wrapped potatoes and decided it would be worth trying the packet concept in one too. 

So one night for supper I tried it. I sprayed the foils with olive oil and placed a thawed chicken breast in the center. Then I seasoned the meat with salt, pepper, and a dried oregano and thyme mix. I also added some fresh onion closest to the meat to add to the flavor. 


Next, I added vegetables, I topped the mix off with some orange bell pepper, a sprinkle of black pepper, and a pinch of salt to add flavor to everything underneath. I sprayed the pile with olive oil and closed it up. 


I put a couple in the crockpot with some potatoes that were already baking. About 5 hours on low had the chicken cooked and the vegetables tender. I had to wash my crockpot because the chicken packets dripped, but I didn’t have to heat the house up using the oven. I’m hoping to try this with some different combinations. I just hope they all come out with good results like this trial did!

