We tend to get distracted with cleaning, cooking, family, shopping, ect.…. But I do think we need to take time to remember that the day is called Thanksgiving for a reason. 

It’s not turkey day. We can eat these foods anytime. It’s not a day to watch football. Again, there are plenty of times to watch football. There is nothing wrong with eating or watching football on Thanksgiving, but that shouldn’t be the focus of the day. 

Thanksgiving is a time to gather with family and be thankful for all that we have. I always love Thanksgiving because I get to see extended family I don’t get to see often. Other than my parents and siblings, most of my extended family don’t follow the lifestyle I do. That means that Thanksgiving is the only holiday we share and get together for. It’s sometimes the only time of year we get to visit. 

As I have thought over the past year, I realized I have so much to be thankful for. I have been thinking and believe that for this Thanksgiving I will start a journal of thankfulness. I have heard of others doing this and I love the idea. Each day, you write down what you are thankful for. On days that you are feeling down, it is great to read back through and be reminded of all you have been blessed with. 

This Thanksgiving, let’s focus less on what we want, what we wish we have. Let’s focus on what we have and the blessings of the year. That is after all what Thanksgiving Day was meant to be. 

