I have to share this recipe with y’all. It’s simple to make from scratch, but this time I’m going to try making it with leftovers from Thanksgiving. 

Chicken and dressing loaf 

Ingredients: 1 package bread stuffing, 2 cups chicken broth, 2 eggs, 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 2 1/2 cups diced cooked chicken, 1/2 cup evaporated milk, and 2 tablespoons pimiento

Directions: Toss stuffing with broth, eggs and half of soup. Spread in 9 by 13 inch baking dish. Top with chicken. Combine remaining soup with milk and pimiento. Pour over chicken. Cover with foil. Bake at 3:50 for 45 minutes or until set. Serves 6. 

I usually substitute mushrooms for pimiento because they are preferred in our house. When I make it today, I am going to replace turkey with chicken. I’m considering also replacing the soup with gravy, but I’ve never done it before so I may just keep the gravy as a side. If I ever have enough leftover homemade dressing, I want to try using it too. 

I like to make it this time of year because of all the holiday sales. Even if you don’t have many traditional leftovers, you can find most (if not all) of the ingredients on sale. It’s a recipe that is easy to play with and make your own. I hope y’all enjoy!

