I just finished this book the other day. I picked it up by chance at my favorite book store. Now I’ll be looking for the book that came before it because of how good this one was. 

Mrs. Hart manages to combine mystery with a heavy dose of Southern tragedy without the reader coming away depressed. (I hate to say it, but several Southern-based tragedies have done this to me.) Set in South Carolina, a mystery unfolds involving a wealthy founding family. I think a large part of why I enjoyed the story is because it presented a balanced opinion. The author didn’t feel the need to set the family as a great racist enemy. 

I’m afraid I can’t explain much more about why I liked it without feeling like I’m taking away from someone reading it. I will be keeping an eye out for more books from this author though and that’s saying something from me. I believe I’ve stumbled upon a mystery series I can really get into. 

In closing, I have to share something I remembered. As I was reading this book, something kept coming back to me. I wish I could remember who said it, but it was during an interview with a Southern author. The author was asked why Southern writers frequently write about freaks (implying, if I remember right, that the South had more freaks than other areas). The author replied that it wasn’t that there were more freaks, merely that we were more willing to acknowledge them. (Of course, “socially unacceptable” would probably be the more PC wording now.) I’m curious if others will understand my connection when they read it. 

Anyway, I hope y’all add this to your read list and enjoy. It’s certainly that time of year to stay in with a book. Happy reading!

