I ran across this simple pancake recipe in my grandma’s cards. It is really great and easy to whip up in a hurry. 

Fluffy Pancakes

Ingredients: 1 cup flour, 1 tbsp. sugar, 2 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, 3/4 cup milk, 1 egg, and 1/4 cup shortening, melted. 

Instructions: In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Combine milk, egg and shortening (I use oil). Stir into dry ingredients and mix well. Pour batter by 1/4 cupfuls on to a greased griddle or skillet, turn when bubbles form. Cook until golden brown. Makes 8 pancakes. 

This is how the recipe is written out, but I will share a couple of my cheats when using the recipe. I dump all of the ingredients into my big, four-cup measuring cup. Then, I mix it really well with a fork until I have a smooth batter. I usually add a little water to thin them out some, but that is up to personal taste. The measuring cup is the size of a small pitcher. It makes it easy to pour the desired-size pancake. 

My last cheat is that on rushed mornings, I stir up the batter the night before and set it in the fridge. They taste just as good cooked the next day. Even if you don’t have time to cook the full batch, you can set the batter back in the fridge for later. 

Hopefully, this will help take the stress out of a weekday hot breakfast for y’all. Pancakes aren’t just for the weekend leisurely ones. 

