I just finished reading Mark Twain’s Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I won’t pick it apart much. What it all boils down to is that I think it had its moments, but I was too exhausted from the read to really enjoy them. 

I think the book gives a good, unbiased example of the time frame. I don’t see how people condemn the book as racist given the friendship that forms between Finn and Jim. The use of terms that are no longer politically correct shouldn’t be able to cloud the message. Finn sees and later the others they end up with come to see Jim for the good man he is. 

The parts that wore me out were the side stories. Finn and Jim put up with a lot more from several people than I could have. Especially the mid-story frauds. Tom for that matter even grated on my nerves. All in all though, it wasn’t the worst I’ve read. And it’s another tittle I can cross off my reading challenge list!

