I can’t be quoted as saying this often, but I actually liked the movie more than the book for once. I picked up a collection of Washington Irving’s stories after watching the movie Sleepy Hollow staring Johnny Depp. The artistic license taken was much more interesting than the original short story.

While the Legend of Sleepy Hollow was the reason I bought the book, I enjoyed several others from it more. Irving’s account of his visit to Shakespeare’s Stratford was probably one of my favorites. As was “The Pride of the Village,” which called to mind Marianne’s story in Austin’s Sense and Sensibility. 

It took me a little to get into Irving’s style of writing, which to me was a little dry and drawn out. Once used to his rhythm though, I found I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. As an editor’s daughter, I was impressed at the length of some of his run-on sentences. I never knew a sentence could be so long and yet grammatically correct at the same time. 

I don’t think I will be keeping the collection, but I don’t regret making the effort to read it. Now, I just have to decide what book to follow it up with. Reading is the only redeeming factor of gray, dreary days. 

