I’m making another long day of it. Caroline has been fussy and it’s been hard to get her to go to bed of a night. Tonight is no different. It has meant that I have made considerable headway on the book I’m reading though. I usually read while Caroline is nursing or I’m trying to rock her to sleep. 

I didn’t get as much done today as I had hoped. I did get part of the compost into the tanks. The rest I moved under cover for when I need it. It will be for working into the ground for such things as the corn and strawberries. I’ll probably even save some back for my herbs and flower pots. I may not have as many flower pots this year though. 

Part of the reason I didn’t do more in the garden was because the girls and I had other plans. Papa goes up to see Grandma three times a week and we went with him today. Since Caroline is a little older, I thought she would be okay for a quick visit. Grandma is in a nursing home and has been declining. Caroline is her eighth great-grandchild. She is my last surviving grandparent so I didn’t want to delay much for getting Caroline up to see her. 

It was nice trip and visit. A good reminder to never let a to-do list get in the way of more important things. It’s turning back cold again, but it won’t stay that way for long. Warmer days will come for me to work in the garden. On the other hand, we don’t know how much longer Grandma will be with us. 

