I’ve embarked on yet another adventure! I’m (hopefully) going to start drying fruits, herbs and vegetables to have a second shelf-stable option. 

I started with mushrooms yesterday. I took a package of fresh mushrooms and brushed them clean. Then I sliced them about 1/4 inch thick and placed them on cooking racks as you see above. I chose mushrooms because of how simple the prep work is. 

I have learned that the magic temperature for oven dehydrating is 170 degrees Fahrenheit. I placed the filled cooling racks straight on the rack of my preheated oven. I stuck a wooden spoon handle in the door to wedge it open as suggested. This lets the moisture out of the oven. It is supposed to take 2-3 hours or until the slices are leathery. Mine took three hours. 

They can then be placed in an air tight container for up to a year according to the book I have. You’ll want to make sure the container is closed all the way when you put them up. I didn’t get mine closed all the way which is why I am redoing them a little this evening to fix my mistake. Now I’ll have to get used to cooking with dried mushrooms though…

