Every year, we have a pair of blue birds summer with us. There is a hole in a fence post close to the raspberry vines. I always knew they nested there and wondered how far down their nest was. 

Yesterday as I was mulching some vine starts, the mama flew out of the hole. My little-kid curiosity won out and I decided now would be my best chance to look without disturbing them. 


It’s not the best photo, but I’m so happy my phone camera got this! As you can see, the nest was visible so I could see six beautiful blue eggs. I didn’t think I would actually get to see anything, much less eggs. You can guess my excitement. 

I’d like to keep you up to date on the nest, but I don’t want to be a pest to the couple. We’ll just see how it goes. If nothing else, it will be nice to listen to the chatter of the nest when the eggs hatch. 

