I finally made some! This may be a new staple of our kitchen now. It is a very simple and basic granola recipe I found on Pinterest. Here is the bare bones of the recipe. 

Preheat your oven at 300 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil. Toss 4 cups oats, 1 cup sliced almonds, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a bowl to mix. Stir together 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter, 1/3 cup honey, and 1 egg white and add to oat mixture. Mix well and spread to an even layer in the baking sheet. Bake for 30 minutes or until nuts look lightly toasted. Let cool and store in an air-tight container. 

Now for mine, I didn’t add almonds so I based taking it out on when the oats looked toasted like when you are making apple betty. I also just used salted butter and held back on the added salt. 

I really like this granola. I am figuring on using it for everything from cereal to topping for yogurt or oatmeal. It will be really great for cold cereal as the girls get older because they can choose what nuts and/or fruit they want mixed with it each morning. I may have to start making it in larger batches though!

