I am so excited. I went over to visit with neighbors of ours and buy some eggs from them. As I was fixing to go, she asked me if I wanted peach trees. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. She had dug several young ones up for a gentleman who decided against them. Needless to say, I said yes and didn’t change my mind. Later that day, I already had one in the ground. 

Papa passed on my grandpa’s advice on planting trees to me and I’ll pass it on too. He always said to dig a $10 hole for a $5 tree. So for each tree I am digging a hole slightly larger than the bucket they are in. (I may get sore: it’s been awhile since I used a potato bar. And yes, I really am digging them by hand.) Then I am putting a couple of inches of compost in the bottom of the hole and watering it down. Then in goes the tree and dirt around it. I’ve even started pulling the grass like carpet and putting it back in place over the filled in hole. I thought it would decrease the chance of the dogs digging. I water the finished area last. 

It’s a lot of work, but I’m looking forward to watching the trees grow. Below is a picture of the first one I planted. I put a post next to it in case it needed support with it being small. My next adventure has begun.