As it usually is with gardening, I have good news and bad news. So we can end on a positive note, I’ll cover the bad first. I had to pull up my pretty zucchini plant. It went down hill quick and I didn’t know why until I pulled it. The stem broke off a bit above the root and I discovered the problem. In that break were three fat, white worms. I don’t know what they were, but they are in the burn barrel with the rest of the plant. (I prefer to burn infested plants.)

The good news is that I have some nice new growth on my two biggest peach trees. Two others are indicating to grow soon. Only the smallest one looks like it’s not going to survive. It’s branches are slightly brittle and it lost its leaves. I’m trying to decide what to do with it, but I am so excited to see the others thriving. 

I am already marking off branches to trim off the walnut trees. Looks like I’ll also be adding peach trees to my list. Always lots to do. I am still fighting the bugs off my squash plants, but the self-rising flour is helping me break even with the tomato worms. We are picking corn and green beans. Anyway, I’d better get back to work. 

