Search

Raised in a Barn…

Day-to-Day Life of a Country Mama

Date

August 11, 2017

Guessed-at Spinach Dip 


I am really surprised at how good this turned out for me just guessing at ingredients and amounts. 

I left 8 oz. of cream cheese out for awhile to soften. Later, I thawed and heated a little less than a cup of frozen spinach. I sliced up some fresh vining spinach I have to supplement the frozen and cooked it in with the other spinach. Together the greens were probably a bit over a cup. 

I minced 3 small cloves of garlic and sautéed them in about a tablespoon of butter. Once they were tender, I combined this in with my greens. I stirred in the cream cheese, about a half cup of sour cream and a half cup of grated Parmesan cheese. I added salt and pepper to taste. I like diced tomato stirred in it too, but for a group I served it on the side. I served it with plain tortilla chips. Another member brought homemade pita chips. I thought it was even better with them. 

I am so happy it turned out great. None came home from services at all. That’s always a good sign!

Fast Learner

Savannah may be slow to potty training, but she picked up shelling beans quick. We had just a small handful from some vines that died. I finally got to shelling them and invited Savannah to help me. 

I showed her how I was opening the pods, popping the beans out and putting them in a little container. She took right to it! She started by picking up the beans I shelled and putting them in the container. Then she started grabbing pods and trying to shell them. She actually got one shelled all by herself before we were done. 

She only tried to taste a bean a couple times and a pod once. This was my main concern when we started because she thought we were eating when she first sat down. She realized soon after what we were doing and that the beans weren’t fit for eating yet. 

After we finished with our little mound, she asked for a snack. I told her I’d fix her one while she threw the empty pods in the trash. She hopped down and took them by handful to the trash can as I fixed her a plate! I’m so excited that I can involve her in this already. 

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑