Search

Raised in a Barn…

Day-to-Day Life of a Country Mama

Date

November 10, 2017

Protein Pancakes

I have discovered how to sneak some extra protein into Savannah’s most recent favorite breakfast food: pancakes. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner! 

This morning when she asked for them yet again, I thought of the chocolate protein powder on our counter. I only put one scoop in to my basic recipe to see how it would do. They turned out good so I am thinking of adding a bit more next time. I may reduce the flour by the amount of protein powder I use to keep the ratio properly balanced. 

When it comes to getting an almost three-year-old to eat more healthy, sometimes you have to get creative. I’m working on it. Maybe by the time Caroline is this age I’ll have a list of sneaky and healthy tricks like this.  

Drying Herbs

I moved my parsley pot inside so it is still thriving. Before long, I’ll do my final harvest and dry the leaves. 

For now, I tried drying some that I had picked for cooking, but didn’t need. I hung it up with string in my kitchen until it was good and dry. Then I stripped and tore the leaves as I put them in a spice jar. The smell is wonderful. I can’t wait to use it for cooking. 

I also have some dried stevia. I picked up a start at the farmers market a few months back, but it died while we were gone. I saved the dried leaves to experiment with in tea combinations. I tried a tiny taste of one and was very surprised by how sweet it was. I look forward to trying to grow it again. I’m already on the lady’s list to buy another start. 

I am slowly getting better with using homegrown items. I look forward to changing my herb and tea cabinets over to ones I have raised. Now if only I can quit killing my plants…. 

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑